DUI and DWI charges can make you feel overwhelmed and insecure about what to expect and negatively affect many aspects of your life, reputation and finances. In Virginia, DUI laws are particularly complex and strict. DUI offenses could carry a maximum penalty of up to six months in prison and a $1,000 fine.
Since the consequences of a DUI in Virginia are severe, it is important to discuss the details of your individual case with a local defense attorney. A Brunswick DUI attorney will assist you throughout the court process and can help you achieve a favorable outcome.
In Virginia, DUI and DWI are used interchangeably to describe the same charge. A person is charged with driving under the influence of alcohol (DUI) or driving under the influence of drugs (DWI) if they are driving with a blood alcohol content of 0.08 percent or more.
DUI offenses are still heavily punished in Virginia. Many people wonder how many alcoholic beverages give a BAC of 0.08%. It depends on a person’s age, weight and gender. The truth is that it is safer never to drink and drive.
A person cannot simply pay for a ticket and attend a safe driving course. A Class 1 misdemeanor can result in a permanent criminal record.
Someone could face misdemeanors ranging from a fine of up to $1,000 to a year in prison and a $2,500 fine. A Brunswick DUI lawyer can undergo a thorough analysis of the possible penalties that a person could face and develop an aggressive defense strategy against the penalty. Learn how a Brunswick DUI attorney can help you. A DUI charge in Virginia may seem like a hopeless situation. However, you may have legal options that could reduce your penalties and reduce the stress of a DUI charge. If someone is seriously injured or killed, or if a person is charged for the third time in 10 years, they could face a fine of up to $1,000 and a year in prison.