Burglary is a very serious criminal charge in Shenandoah, Virginia and the laws are quite complex and confusing making it sometime difficult to understand what you are up against.
Burglary Laws in Shenandoah Virginia
Under Virginia burglary law, it is defined as a breaking in and entering somebody’s house at the night with an intention to execute a crime or theft inside. The penalties you face as a result of burglary are 5-20 years in jail. In case you were armed during the crime, it will be considered as a Class 2 felony which carries a 20 years of life in prison. If you were not armed, you will be charged with a Class 3 felony, with a 5 -20 years of prison time.
While facing burglary charges in the Shenandoah Virginia, you are up against inflexible consequences and severe penalties if you are sentenced. During this difficult period, you need someone on your side who is concerned in getting you the best results possible on your case, a local defense attorney who is ready to help ensure your rights are protected through the criminal justice process.
According to burglary laws in Shenandoah Virginia, there are three kinds of statutory burglary in Virginia, and use a term called “breaking and entering.” Breaking is defined as to gain entry by using force, no matter how small and real breaking means using force to enter.
Types of Statutory Burglary
There are three ways to execute statutory burglary, distinguished by the situations near the burglary-like activity and by which crimes the committer planned to commit. They types broken into numerous types, based on whether there was breaking and entrance (or only illegal entry), at what time of the day or night the crime happened, what kind of structure was involved, and the crime that the perpetrator planned to execute once inside the building.
- Breaking and entering the home with an intention to execute homicide, rape, theft or arson. The punishment of this delinquency under bulgur laws is 5-20 years in jail and a fine of $100,000.
- Breaking and entering in the house to execute assault, battery, theft or homicide, rape burglary or arson. Actual burning is no longer essential; smoke or soot damage will also some under the section of arson. The sentence for this crime is 1-20 years in jail sentence and a $2,500 fine.
- Breaking and coming in the house with an intention to execute a misdemeanor
other than intrude or attack and battery (Code 18.2.92). The sentence for
conviction is 1-5 years in prison and a fine of $2,500.
Involved under Virginia law which cover burglary laws in Shenandoah Virginia, is the delinquency of unlawful harm. It might be accused as a felony liable upon the volume of damage. Virginia burglary laws describe it as illegally abolishing or damaging real or individual property without the intent to steal, such as spoiling a statue. It is charged as a Class 1 misdemeanor or Class 6 felony, liable upon the value of the assets that are damaged.